Phonics and Reading


EYFS and KS1 teach phonics and early reading skills using the letters and sounds approach. This is sometimes referred to as synthetic phonics.

There are 6 phases within Letters & Sounds and most children will complete Phase 6 by the end of Year 2, however this can continue into Year 3 if required.


All children in school have a class reading book and a library book. The class reading book is from the Oxford University Press Reading Scheme and is what we refer to as a “banded book” as it is a progressive scheme.

All children have an allocated time each week in their timetable to visit the school library.

Children have a reading journal which is used for parents, carers and school staff to record progress in.

Key Stage 2 children follow a programme called Destination Reader

Destination Reader involves daily sessions incorporating whole class modelling prior to the children applying these skills through partner work and independent reading. Children deepen their understanding of the texts they read through the systematic use of a series of strategies and language stems. The approach encompasses the key principles of effective reading provision and fully meets the requirements of the National Curriculum. It also builds a culture of reading for pleasure and purpose.

Some of the key principles which underpin Destination Reader are:

  • Enable quality experience
  • Promote enjoyment
  • Increase reading mileage
  • Build firm foundations
  • Develop thinking and understanding
  • Make talk central

Its main focus is on:

  • Key reading strategies which support comprehension.
  • Learning behaviours which support dialogue.